United Way Awards Varsity Letters for Community Service

United Way of Washtenaw County awarded 24 local students with a varsity letter from their local high school in recognition of outstanding community service during the school year at an awards ceremony held on June 2, 2017.

The Varsity Letter in Community Service recognizes high school students for their outstanding volunteer work during the year by presenting them with a high school specific varsity letter in community service. Students participating in the program complete 145 hours of volunteer work and their hours are verified by the Labor Participation Committee.

Each year one participating senior is selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship by the Huron Valley Area Labor Federation. The Organized Labor partnership with United Way began in 1946 and the objective is to effect positive change in our communities. It places emphasis on community service through volunteerism, education, information/referral, and support of United Way through employer based giving campaigns and contributions from local unions and their staff. This year Laura Grosh was selected for her outstanding community volunteer contributions.

Other students earning their varsity letter include: 
Yashwanth Manne
Alison Schulte
Ritvik Jillala
Trip Apley
Thomas Coh
Christopher Morgan-Martin
Yunfei Ma
Bhuvna Murthy
Mairead Erhardt
Laura Grosh
McClain Johns
Divya Macha
Megan Gauger
Richard Shi
Will Ellsworth
Trey Feldeisen
Austin Sheperd
Sonya Reeves
Moira Cummings
William Chung
Michael Briggs
Maya Millette
Amina Tanweer
Eleanor Lawton

Frank Gates from UAW and Gloria Llamas from CWA4123 and the local labor council, along with United Way President Pam Smith were on hand to recognize the students and pass out awards. “We are delighted to recognize these students for their outstanding achievements in community service – more than 5,000 hours in less than one year! Truly amazing work!” shared Pam Smith, United Way president.  This is our seventh annual Varsity Letter Program, initiated by our Community Service Liaison Sheila Pedersen.